The finals of this year’s club tournaments took place over three days last week with the weather just about remaining fine to enable all seventeen matches to be played.

Steve Dick made the most appearances, playing in six events with club captain Graham Hughes and club treasurer Dai Davies not far behind featuring in five and four finals respectively.

Dai not only featured in four finals but with a little help from his friends, won them all!

Three singles finals all featured the same two players with Alan Brain winning two and Graham Hughes the other.

In the ladies competitions, Shirley Cox played in three finals with Sue Roden, Kath Blayney, Sandra Ingerson and Lorna Hooper each appearing in two.

Following the games on Saturday, the club presentation evening took place hosted by competition secretary Paul Blayney.

Opening the proceedings, Paul thanked those who had taken part in the tournaments and those who had acted as markers in the singles events.

The members who had won county titles were congratulated as were Stephanie and Gemma Amos for becoming Welsh Pairs winners and who together with Ann Lewis had won the Welsh triples title.

Steph and Gemma were also congratulated on not only representing Wales in the home international series but for retaining their places in the national squad for next year.

Joe Dennis, who had travelled to Belfast the day before as part of the Welsh under 25 team, was congratulated for winning his first cap that very day featuring in the match against Ireland.

The club teams were congratulated on their season’s efforts, particularly the first division squad who had won the men’s league for the first time since 2006.

The St Issells ladies had finished third in the ladies county league with the Saundersfoot ladies in fifth place.

President Ann Lewis then presented the trophies with prizes for winners and runners up followed by Christine Harris awarding Dennis Ball the shield for the most success in the Tuesday Triples competition.

Club Captain Graham Hughes then thanked everyone for supporting the many friendlies that had taken place before awarding the Captains Shield to Ken James for all his hard work for the club during the past twelve months.

Saundersfoot Division One Captain Berwyn Dennis then welcomed Jim Thomas, the Pembrokeshire Men’s County Bowling Association President who presented the County Shield to him, with Jim congratulating the team on their success.

Finally, Dianne Rigden and Alwen Hughes, who had prepared a buffet, plus Alwen and Val James who had manned the bar were thanked, before Club Chairman Myrddin Dennis thanked Paul for all his hard work organising the club internal and open competitions.

The winners and runners up in the finals were:

Ladies club champion Sandra Ingerson, runner up Sue Roden; Men’s club champion Alan Brain, runner up Graham Hughes; Men’s rabbit’s singles winner Alan Rich, runner up Ian Smith; Ladies rabbit’s winner Shirley Cox, runner up Lorna Hooper; Men’s handicap singles winner Steve Dick, runner up Dennis Ball; Ladies handicap winner Sue Roden, runner up Lorna Hooper; Men’s two wood singles winner Alan Brain, runner up Graham Hughes; Ladies two wood singles winner Kath Blayney, runner up Shirley Cox; Men’s two wood and four wood pair’s winners Steve Dick and Neil Hensman with John Haig and Mike Ashbridge runners up; Ladies four wood pairs winners Shirley Cox and Christine Harris, runners up Christine Ball and Jacquie Ford; Mixed Triples winners Lynne Reyed, Dai Davies and Myrddin Dennis, runners up Kath Blayney, Paul Blayney and Mackie Brace; Over 60s men’s singles winner Graham Hughes, runner up Alan Brain; Men’s triples winners Graham Hughes, Dai Davies and Myrddin Dennis, runners up Brian Desmond, Neil Hensman and Steve Dick; Jubilee pairs winners Derek Bibby and Dai Davies, runners up Bob Storey and Steve Dick; Mixed pairs winners Marion Evans and Steve Dick, runners up Alan Rich and Sandra Ingerson; Over 60s men’s pairs winners Ian Smith and Dai Davies, runners up Mike Oliver and Graham Hughes.


Joe Dennis featured during the Under 25s match against Ireland last Saturday when he won his first Welsh cap.