There were some shock results in the Thomas Carroll Pembroke County Cricket League on Saturday, and none more so than in Division One.

Before the day, Neyland were sitting pretty at the head of the table, while Saundersfoot were propping up the rest. So who could possibly have envisaged the outcome of their top v bottom clash.

Saundersfoot had been without a win so far this season, but they turned the table on its head as they defeated the pace-setters in a real-nail-biter.

Batting first, the villagers posted a total of 133 all out against the lively Neyland attack, with Simon Stanford top scoring with 32 and John Mansbridge chipping in with 24 and 24, respectively.

With some of the scores being seen on the county’s grounds this season, this hardly seemed likely that it would be enough, but enough it was as Neyland struggled to chase it down and surprisingly were bowled out three runs short.

Mansbridge completed a good day for Saunderssfoot by taking four of the wickets to fall, while Neil Powling returned the best figures of the match with 4 for 20.

The win has seen the Seasiders move off the bottom of the table, although Neyland cling on to poll position... but only by virtue of another shock.

In a low scoring match at Haverfordwest, the second placed Town surprisingly went down to lowly St Ishmaels - hard to believe after Tish had only been able to muster a meagre total of 85.

Archie Thomas had done the damage for Haverfordwest with 6 for 34, but for once there was no Simon Holliday century to report upon in the Town’s batting performance as they themselves were skittled for just 57, some 28 runs short of their target.

Wrecker-in-chief was Andrew Pawlett with impressive figures of 7 for 20.

There was a higher scoring affair at Whitland, though, where Tom Davies smashed an unbeaten century as he helped Carew to a total of 168.

But his efforts were in vain, as Whitland reached their target with seven wickets to spare, Jonathan Thomas top scoring with an unbeaten 60, to add to his bowling figures of 3 for 46, and Paul Davies giving good support with 40.

Another man in the runs was Harry Thomas, of Lawrenny, who managed to reach three figures before falling for 100 exactly. With Steve Lewis also weighing in with 80, it enabled Lawrenny to pile up a formiable total of 282 for 5 in their innings.

That was always likely to be a difficult challenge for hosts Burton, and so it proved as they were eventually bowled out 121 runs short.

Kurtis Marsh and Rob Williams both picked up three wickets for Lawrenny.

In the day’s other division one match, Cresselly were too strong for Llangwm, running out seven-wicket winners.

Llangwm could only reach 156 in their innings as wickets fell at regular intervals, mainly to the bowling of Josh Lewis, who finished with fine figures of 5 for 45.

Cresselly made light work of their target, with Dan Sutton enjoying himself as he smashed a superb 87 to help steer his side home.

Among other individual highlights around the county was an excellent all-round performance by Lamphey’s Peter McGilloway in division three.

First with the ball he helped restrict Whitland Seconds to a total of 184 for seven and then with the bat, he wielded the willow to good effect as he hammered a superb 104 not out to help his side to a seven-wicket victory, David Blackwell also giving great support with an unbeaten 49.

Gethin Scourfield had earlier top scored for Whitland with 52, with David Lee not far behind with 41.


Division One: Cresselly v Burton; Lawrenny v Haverfordwest; Llangwm v Neyland; Saundersfoot v Whitland; St Ishmaels v Carew.

Division Two: Carew II v Kilgetty; Haverfordwest II v Llechryd; Hook v Johnston; Pembroke v Cresselly II; Pembroke Dock v Narberth.

Division Three: Haverfordwest III v Lamphey; Herbrandston v Lawrenny II; Laugharne v Stackpole; Narberth II v Llangwm II; Whitland II v Llanrhian.

Division Four: Burton II v Haverfordwest IV; Carew III v St Ishmaels II; Llanrhian II v Hook II; Llechryd II v Saundersfoot II; Neyland II v Crymych.

Division Five: Hundleton v Whitland III; Kilgetty II v Cresselly III; Neyland III v Herbrandston II; Stackpole II v Pembroke II.