Saturday saw the annual County AGM and Luncheon for the West Wales Ladies Bowls Association.

The AGM took place at the Nant y Ffin hotel in Llandisilio with members and delegates from each club present to observe and vote on propositions for future changes within the WWLBA.

The meeting also saw the election of new officers including a new secretary, competition secretary and president. Congratulations from all at Saundersfoot bowls club to Andrea Thomas of Whitland who will step up from her Senior Vice role to President of the WWLBA for next year’s season.

Saundersfoot’s very own Kath Blayney will now join the officer’s panel as the new Junior Vice President. Unfortunately Kath could not attend on Saturday due to a prior engagement. We wish Kath all the best with her new role and sure she will do the club proud.

Later in the afternoon came the presentations of the 2018 competition winners and runners up, these were presented by former Competition Secretary Julia King-Thomas and 2018 President Anne Cole.

Saundersfoot was well presented across the board in all bar two competitions.

The first trophy went to club president Ann Lewis for winning the open singles, winning against Welsh Junior International Katie Thomas from Whitland.

Our next winner was Sandra Ingerson for winning the Autumn Cup competition which is the counties’ Senior Singles competition. Saundersfoot would like to congratulate Sandra on her first county title.

The presentations then went on to the pairs competitions starting with the 2 wood pairs, the winners of this competition were Susan Evans and Cally jones from Whitland, however Club President Ann Lewis and Viv Edwards claimed the runners up trophy. The 4 wood pair’s final was contested by 4 players all from Saundersfoot club.

Gemma and Steph Amos were triumphant against Ann Lewis and Viv Edwards winning in a closely contested final back in August at Pembroke Dock.

The penultimate trophy won by Saundersfoot was for the county rinks championship. Gemma Amos Marion Evans, Steph Amos and Ann Lewis claimed a proud victory against a very commendable Neyland rink of Val Hubbard and co.

The last trophy and presentation of the day was the formidable Vixtrix Lodorum trophy. This trophy is not awarded every year as a player must win the open singles competition and at least one other county competition.

This year the prestigious award went to Ann Lewis for winning the open singles and rinks titles. Well done Ann!