Top awards have gone to farmers from Hundleton, Cosheston, Haverfordwest and Eglwyswrw at an awards dinner celebrating the best of the best.

The Federation of Welsh Grassland Societies’ (FWGS) annual Awards Dinner was held at the Marine Hotel, Aberystwyth, on July 6. Posting on Facebook following the event, the society described it as “super night at the 2023 FWGS Awards Dinner,“ adding; “thank you to sponsors, judges, finalists and friends for attending ... great to see the best of the best being awarded!”

With fierce national competition in all categories, the limelight for one of the top awards – the FWGS Grassland Farming Competition went to Richard Morris, Bowett Farm, Hundleton, Pembrokeshire (a member of Cleddau Grassland Society); with the runner up placing going to Dylan and Wyn Jones, Castellior (members of Anglesey Grassland Society).

The overall Milk Award went to Morris Davies, Hafod Farm, Ferwig (a member of Cardigan Grassland Society); whilst the runner up position was collected by Roger Lewis of PFJ & SM Lewis & Son, Poyerston Farm, Cosheston, Pembroke Dock (members of Cleddau Grassland Society). Roger also won runner-up in the Clamp Silage category, with the category winner was Owain Rees of Jenkins and Rees Cyf, Treclyn Isaf, Eglwyswrw (the current British Grassland Farmer of the Year).

Grassland Competition: Euryn Jones HSBC with Morris Davies (Winner) and Wyn Jones (runner up)
Grassland Competition: Euryn Jones HSBC with Morris Davies (Winner) and Wyn Jones (runner up) (FWGS)

Eilir Jones of JD&TE Jones, Dremddu Fawr, Creuddyn Bridge, Lampeter (members of Mid Cards Grassland Society) won the Big Bale caterogy; whilst the joint runners up in the Big Bale competition were Roger Jones, Trenchol, Llandeloy, Haverford West and & GR Isaac, Mynachdy Farm, Ynysybwl.

The Most Improved Category in the Milk Award went to FWGS Chair, Martin Griffiths of GR & ME Griffiths, Ffosygravel Uchaf, Borth (Aberystwyth Grassland Society).

The Federation of Welsh Grassland Societies wishes to thank all finalists, judges and friends who supported the competitions and attended the Awards Dinner; especially their honourable sponsors: Ecosyl; BerryBPI; KUHN; Wynnstay, Siolotite, Diversey, HSBC, RWAS and AgriLloyd.

All FWGS competitions are open to members of the 22 Welsh Grassland Societies.